Constitution of the United States Missing Words Game

Use these words to complete the statements related to the U. S. Constitution.

©Courseware Solutions for Fun Learning Word Games

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America. Constitution Day, or Citizenship Day, is celebrated on September 17, the anniversary of the day that the Constitution of the United States was signed. Constitution Day is one of the newest federal holidays. It was established by Congress in 2004 and before that was known as Citizenship Day. The signing of the Constitution took place on September 17, 1787, at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Constitution replaced the Articles of Confederation, which united the original 13 states as equals, giving them one vote each in the Congress. The Constitution establishes a legislative branch, Congress, which is made up of two houses, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Constitution describes how government is organized and what the relationship is between the federal government and the people. The Constitution establishes a government that is divided into three branches: a legislature, an executive branch led by the President, and the judiciary. The Bill of Rights refers to the first ten amendments to the Constitution, which were proposed in 1789 by James Madison and ratified by the states in 1791. The Constitution establishes a bicameral legislature, which means that Congress is divided into two parts, the Senate and the House of Representatives. The Constitution of the United States is four pages long and is both the oldest and shortest constitution of any major government in the world today. The Constitution of the United States is on display in the National Archives Building in Washington, DC, in a special protective case frame. James Madison, who eventually became the fourth president of the United States, is considered to be the "father of the Constitution". The first amendment to the Constitution safeguards freedom of religion, speech and the press, as well as the rights of peaceful assembly and petition. The Constitution grants the power to make laws to the Congress and states that it should be made up of a Senate and a House of Representatives. The Constitution states that members of the House of Representatives be chosen every second year, be at least 25, and live in the state represented. According to the Constitution, the Senate is made up of two Senators from each state, who each serve 6-year terms. The Constitution states that, "The Vice President of the United States shall be President of the Senate, but shall have no Vote, unless they be equally divided." According to the Constitution, the number of Representatives from each state is determined by population. States with more people have more Representatives. The President of the United States must swear to "preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States." The Constitution states that the President must be a natural born citizen, at least 35 years old, and a resident for at least 14 years. The Constitution requires that a Senator be at least 30, a citizen of the United States for at least 9 years, and a resident of the state represented. Amendments to the Constitution must be approved or ratified by three quarters of the states in order to take effect. There are 27 amendments to the Constitution. The first ten are referred to as the Bill of Rights. The thirteenth amendment abolished slavery.